Kansas is located in the Midwestern United States. The state has a diverse geography, with rolling hills and farmland in the east, rugged mountain ranges in the west, and vast expanses of prairie in between. Kansas City is the largest city in the state and home to many attractions, including the Sprint Center and Kauffman Center for Performing Arts. Other notable places to visit in Kansas include Lawrence, Topeka, and Wichita.
Kansas’s Medical Marijuana Legalization Status
Kansas was one of the strictest states in the US when it came to cannabis prohibition before the 2018 legislative session. Kansas was one of the first states west of the Mississippi River to outlaw marijuana in 1927. Kansas’ stance on the plant hasn’t altered much since then. Gov. Jeff Colyer signed SB 263, often known as the Alternative Crop Research Act, on April 20, 2018. The act directed the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) to create a program researching the viability of industrial hemp, defined as cannabis with less than 0.3 percent THC concentration, in partnership with Kansas’ public institutions.
Shortly after, on May 24, 2018, Colyer signed SB 282, which specifically exempted cannabidiol (CBD) from the legal classification of marijuana, allowing for widespread access to CBD products as long as they contain no THC.
SB 28, Claire and Lola’s Law, was signed by Governor Laura Kelly in 2019. It created an “affirmative defense” for patients and their parents or guardians who own and consume CBD oil that contains less than 5% THC. In most trials, an affirmative defense is given, which means that the person can still be arrested, accused, and detained while awaiting trial.
To assert the defense, the patient or parent/guardian must have a letter from a Kansas-licensed doctor stating the patient’s “debilitating medical condition” with them at the time of the arrest. The letter must be written on the doctor’s letterhead and dated within the last 15 months. The law did not provide a list of diseases, although it stated that seizures are a medically diagnosed disease or condition that impairs strength or function.
Our team at KIF doctors offers you all the medical marijuana therapy facilities you might need because your ailment isn’t curable without marijuana. Just make sure to contact us, and we will get you in touch with the best medical marijuana doctor in Kansas.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Alabama?
Here are the requirements you’ll need to satisfy in order to receive your Medical Marijuana Card in Alabama:
1. You must be 19 years old or have a certified, registered caregiver if you are younger.
2. You must have been diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions by a physician.
3. An Alabama Marijuana Card must be applied for and accepted.
Getting an MMJ card in Alabama has never been easier, thanks to KIF, which offers them at low prices and with complete support. If you’re new to all of this, you’ll need help with the paperwork and registration, and we’ll make sure you get the help and information you need. In addition, here are some tips on how to get started with medical cannabis therapy. To receive an MMJ card without any hassle, make sure you follow the identical steps outlined below.
Schedule an appointment with an MMJ 420 doctor
You will have to make an appointment to see a medical marijuana 420 doctor in Alabama at a time that is most convenient for you. Fill out a brief medical history form and schedule an appointment with a registered medical marijuana physician. You’ll require medical records, necessary documents, and any qualifying condition that can be approved by the 420 doctors.
Go through an MMJ Evaluation
Consult an MMJ doctor in Alabama to assess your symptoms and ask any questions you may have about medicinal marijuana therapy. This is a crucial component in obtaining a medical marijuana license in Alabama.
After the appointment, if you are authorized, the 420 doctor in Alabama will register you with the Commission if he certifies your need for medicinal marijuana. That registration application will include a Commission-created form as well as an application fee.
Obtain Your Certificate
Your application will be processed, you will be notified of your approval, and your card will be mailed to you. After you’ve received your card, you can start shopping at dispensaries.
Patients in Alabama will need to recertify their license every year by seeing a licensed physician. When your certification is about to expire, the state health department will notify you a month or two earlier.
A list of qualifying conditions for MMJ treatment
A Qualifying Patient must be diagnosed with at least one Qualifying Medical Condition by a Registered Certifying Physician. Before providing a Physician Certification, he can also affirm that the Qualifying Patient has been medically diagnosed with at least one Qualifying Medical Condition.
- Terminal Illness
- HIV Positive
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Autism Glaucoma
- Chronic Debilitating Migraine
- Anxiety (CBD Rich Card Only)
- A chronic or debilitating sickness or medical condition, or the therapy for it, that causes one or more of the following symptoms:
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed drug or surgical measures for more than three months has resulted in serious adverse effects from existing treatment options.
- Intractable Nausea
- Muscle spasms that are severe and chronic, including but not limited to those associated with Multiple Sclerosis.
Patients and caregivers can also ask the Kansas Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) to add further conditions to the list. To obtain cannabis for medical purposes, qualified patients and their caregivers must first register with the MMP. Separate applications are necessary for patients and caregivers. A parent or legal guardian must sign on behalf of patients under the age of 18. Before receiving their medicinal marijuana card in Kansas, patients must complete specific eligibility conditions.
Requirements for caregivers
To legally acquire medical cannabis for a patient, caregivers must first get a Designated Caregiver ID card. Caregivers must be at least 21 years old or the patient’s parent or legal guardian. A caregiver must be a Kansas resident who agrees to assist with a patient’s medical cannabis use and can only help up to five patients.
For each patient, designated caregivers must fill out an application and pay a $125 charge. Caregivers will need the patient’s 10-digit registry number as well as a receipt indicating they paid $65 to the State Bureau of Identification and requested a criminal background report be forwarded to OMM to complete the application process.
Possession and Cultivation Information in Kansas
Marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance in Kansas. In 2015, legislation changed the penalties for possessing up to one ounce of marijuana from a criminal offense to a civil offense punished by a $100 fine. Decriminalization was expanded to encompass low-level possession charges by young offenders under legislation passed in 2019. Marijuana usage in public or a moving car will continue to be illegal.
Patients can legally possess medical cannabis on the registry and their designated caregivers. Patients and caregivers are allowed to have up to 6 ounces at a time. For patients and caregivers, OMM regulations restrict home cultivation.
Possession for Personal Use
- Possession of marijuana over one ounce but less than 28.3 grams is an unclassified misdemeanor. Possession is a class B misdemeanor if one or more aggravating elements are present.
- Possession of 28.3 grams or less is a class F felony, a class D felony with one prior conviction, and a Class C felony with two or more prior convictions. Possession is a class D felony with one or more aggravating factors and a class C felony with more prior convictions. Possession is a class C felony if two or more aggravating factors are present.
- Possession of 28.3 grams of marijuana is a class D felony, whereas possession of more than 2 ounces is a class B felony with one or more prior convictions. Possession is a class B felony if at least one aggravating circumstance is present.
In Kansas, growing marijuana plants or distributing any amount of marijuana (or possessing marijuana with the intent to do so) are both unlawful. Five or more marijuana plants are considered “cultivation.” The severity of the penalty depends on the nature of the offense and whether the offender has any past convictions.
Cultivating more than four but fewer than 50 plants is a drug severity level 3 crime punishable by 46 to 83 months in jail and a maximum fine of $300,000. Cultivating 50 to 100 plants is a drug-severity category two crime punishable by 92 to 144 months in jail and a maximum fine of $500,000. Cultivation of 100 or more plants is a drug severity level 1 felony that carries a sentence of 138 to 204 months in jail and a payment of up to $500,000 in fines.
Kansas’s CBD Oil Program
CBD is a non-psychoactive cannabinoid found in marijuana. Cannabidiol (CBD) is the second-most abundant cannabinoid in the plant after tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and it has a variety of potential therapeutic effects, including anti-inflammatory, analgesic, anti-anxiety, and seizure-suppressant qualities. CBD can be obtained from both marijuana and hemp plants, both of which are legal in most countries due to trace levels of THC.
CBD is rarely mentioned in Kansas cannabis laws. The Kansas Medical Marijuana Act made medical marijuana legal in the state in 2011. Patients with a qualifying health condition and a medicinal marijuana card can buy CBD products made from marijuana under the state’s medical-marijuana program.
There is presently no clear legislation defining the consequences of possessing CBD derived from cannabis. However, those detected in possession of more than one ounce of cannabis face a sliding scale of punishments. Without a medical marijuana certificate, possessing less than one ounce of cannabis is deemed a civil violation punishable by a fine of up to $100. Possession of more than one ounce of cannabis up to 17.5 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by up to three months in jail and a $575 fine. Possession of more than 17.5 grams of cannabis is a felony charge that can result in a sentence of up to three years in prison.
CBD-derived hemp products can be obtained at Kansas convenience stores, health food stores, coffee shops, and a rising number of CBD-specific retailers. CBD-derived cannabis products are only available from licensed dispensaries. Another alternative for purchasing CBD is to shop for it online. Consumers can purchase CBD products from several online retailers, read customer reviews, and deliver their orders to their homes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Ans: Your Medical Marijuana Program registry ID card will be valid for one year from the date of issuing.
Q: I live in another state and suffer from one of the qualifying medical conditions. Can I apply for the program?
Ans: No. The Kansas Medical Marijuana Program is only open to Kansas residents.
Ans: The Department will approve or deny a complete application within 45 calendar days of receipt after verifying the information contained in the application.
Ans: Consumption of cannabis must take place in a private setting. Consuming cannabis in public, in a parked vehicle, or on private land where cigarette smoking is prohibited is illegal in Kansas.