How To Get A Utah Medical Marijuana Card?

How To Get A Utah Medical Marijuana Card?

‘Is marijuana legal in Utah?’ is a commonly asked question in the state. The state has always had highly restrictive restrictions regarding medical marijuana, and many citizens still aren’t aware that they meet the requirements to purchase legally grown marijuana in Utah. CBD oil with minimal levels of THC was legalized by the state in 2014, making it easier for anyone to buy and consume it. However, there were no legal ways for residents to obtain this product. In 2015, a more comprehensive medicinal marijuana measure was first suggested. Multiple attempts were made in 2016 and 2018 to enact a medicinal marijuana bill. 

The year 2021 saw the opening of the initially authorized dispensaries under this bill. Each new medical marijuana clinic in Utah has increased access to the drug, especially in the state’s most rural areas. Medical marijuana is the most advanced form of plant-based treatment. It’s not like a regular prescription drug to treat a specific ailment or symptom. Medical marijuana helps patients reduce or even quit taking their prescription drugs in many circumstances. Patients might benefit from the expertise of a healthcare professional who utilizes natural and safe procedures.

Medical marijuana is now legal in Utah. If you have a valid medical marijuana card, you can use medical marijuana anywhere in the state. Even though recreational marijuana usage remains illegal in Utah, citizens with a certified medical marijuana card can possess and use Cannabis. To receive a medical marijuana card in Utah, you must have a genuine medical reason. However, legit medical card users can acquire marijuana from a registered dispensary. This blog will help you know more about Utah’s medical marijuana legislation and how to get a Utah Medical Marijuana Card.


Who Is Eligible to Apply?

The process of applying for a Utah medical marijuana card. Listed below are the requirements:

  • You are required to be a citizen or permanent resident of Utah.
  • All applicants must be at least 21 years of age to obtain a medicinal marijuana card.
  • Minors can apply for Caregiver Cards and a Temporary Patient Card.
  • Compassionate Use Board clearance is required if you are 18 and 20 years old.
  • A caregiver must be specified on the patient’s application if they are under 18 or need help getting or dosing medical Cannabis.


Is it legal to use Marijuana in Utah?

A decade from now, the legal status of recreational marijuana in Utah will likely be vastly different from what it was in 2007. For several years, Utah had no interest in considering the possibility of medical marijuana being legal. They were the very first state in the early 20th century to take the initiative to prohibit Cannabis. As a result, medical marijuana was made legal in the state of Utah in 2018.

However, it is vital to keep in mind that recreational use of marijuana is still illegal in Utah. If you are caught with marijuana without a medical marijuana card, you could face hefty penalties in Utah, unlike many states which have legalized the drug.


Medicinal Cannabis Regulations in Utah

Medical marijuana is legal in Utah, but there are still laws and requirements to follow:

  • Possession of any amount of marijuana is an offense for anyone who is not a patient of Medical Marijuana.
  • If you’re caught with less than a gram of Cannabis and no legal marijuana card, you might face up to six months in jail and a $1000 fine.
  • It is against the law to sell marijuana anywhere in the state other than the few establishments licensed to sell medical marijuana. These are significant crimes for which a criminal charge is filed.
  • In Utah, the possession or sale of marijuana products is prohibited.


The Utah Medical Marijuana Card Requirement

There is an application process for a medicinal marijuana card in Utah. Here are the following requirements include:

  • Anyone under the age of 18 must have their parent or guardian’s consent before they can participate in any of the events. 
  • To get a medical marijuana card in Utah, you must be a resident and consult with a certified medical professional who can verify that you have a medical condition that would benefit from marijuana therapy or treatment.
  • Non-residents can apply for a temporary Utah medicinal marijuana license to use the medical marijuana legally.


Conditions for obtaining an MMJ card in Utah

Cannabis therapy and treatment are effective for a wide range of ailments. The following is the list of conditions that meet the requirements:

  • Tumor
  • Alzheimer’s 
  • Chronic brain disease 
  • Epilepsy 
  • Severe seizures
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Cachexia
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD

You may also be eligible if you suffer from constant nausea that isn’t alleviated by standard treatment. That goes for any pain that lasts more than two weeks and can’t be controlled. There is a possibility that you may be able to obtain a medical marijuana card for anxiety in Utah. According to the state of Utah, you can submit a petition for compassionate usage, which is decided upon by a board on a case-by-case basis.


The Application Procedure for a Medical Cannabis Card

Here is an overview of the card application procedure that you may find helpful:


  1. Find a licensed medicinal cannabis provider

Ask your doctor if they’re QMP certified with the Utah Department of Health and whether your ailment qualifies for medical Cannabis. If you have a qualifying condition that could benefit from medical cannabis treatment. Still, your provider is not a QMP; in that case, your caregiver may register as a QMP or recommend you to a QMP.


  1. Consult with a QMP

To receive a medical marijuana card, a patient must meet with a Quality Management Professional, QMP. A QMP must extensively examine the patient’s condition and medical records during the appointment. The patient and medical practitioner may meet for the first time before or after the provider has registered with the UDOH as a QMP. Don’t start filling out your online application before or following your consultation with a Quality Management Professional, QMP.


  1. Create an account 

The electronic verification method requires all patients to have a Utah ID account before beginning the EVS application process. Visit the Utah ID page to create an account.


  1. Review EVS and sign up for a Medicinal Marijuana card

A patient should read the EVS Patient Registration User Guide before commencing an online application. Patients can apply for a medicinal cannabis card online after reading the guide in EVS.


  1. Recommendation by QMP

Once a patient has submitted an online application, their QMP must log in to the EVS and complete their component, including a recommendation for medical Cannabis.


  1. Pay online for a Cannabis card

The patient logs back into the EVS and pays the application fee for their medical cannabis card. The final step is to submit the completed application to the UDOH via the UDOH’s website. Fees for medical cannabis cards:

  • Patient Card: $15 for the first time
  • Six-month renewal of a patient card costs $15
  • One-year renewal of a patient card is $15

Once you’ve had your cannabis card for a year, your doctor will assess your eligibility for a one-year license.


  1. UDOH reviews Cannabis card application

The UDOH reviews medical marijuana card applications to ensure that all conditions are met before issuing the card. An applicant’s application will be assessed within 15 days of submission if they are 21 years old or older and have the required medical evidence. The Compassionate Use Board must review the petitions of minors under 21 and adults without a qualifying disease within 90 days of submission. By email, CUB petitions will be communicated to patients under 21 and individuals with no qualifying medical condition.


  1. Obtain a Medicinal Marijuana Card

If all requirements are completed, the UDOH will issue the card and send a copy of it via email to the patient’s registered email address. Afterward, patients can save the medicinal marijuana card to their smartphone or print it out.


  1. Buy Cannabis from a dispensary

When the UDOH issues a medical cannabis card, patients can buy the needed products at a medicinal marijuana pharmacy. Medical Cannabis must be purchased at a pharmacy with a valid photo ID, a driver’s license, and a medical cannabis card.


How can a caregiver get an MMJ card?

Patients under 18 or those who require assistance in accessing or ingesting medicinal marijuana will need to provide the name of a caregiver on their application form. This is how the process works:


Step.1: Patients currently using medical Cannabis can nominate a caregiver online.

Step.2: Read the EVS user instructions and apply for a medicinal cannabis card online.

Step.3: Pay the application fee for a medicinal cannabis card online.

Step.4: The caregiver must fill out the necessary forms for the background check.

Step.5: A medicinal cannabis card application is reviewed by the Utah State Health Department (UDOH).

Step.6: Receive a medicinal cannabis card.

Step.7: You can get medical marijuana by going to a medical marijuana pharmacy.


What You Should Learn About EVS Utah

In Utah, EVS, electronic verification system applications are required to obtain a prescription for medical marijuana. Your doctor or other health care provider will likely show you how to get started at or immediately following your appointment. To achieve this, you’ll need a Utah ID account. Your doctor will assist you in beginning the registration process and will then use the system to validate your Utah medical license directly on your behalf. It’s possible to keep track of the status of your application and receive a notification when your medical card has been issued once you’ve paid the application cost.


What Does a Utah MMJ Card Permit?

MMJ Card holders in Utah are allowed to grow and possess marijuana. Some restrictions are in place, and you should be aware of them.

  1. There is a 12-day limit on how much a patient can spend on any item.
  2. An amount necessary for 14 days of treatment based on the dose guidelines recommended by the relevant authorized medical provider.
  3. Fifty-six grams of cannabis flower that has not been processed.
  4. In pharmaceutical form, more than 10 grams of THC are present.

The restrictions are different if a patient lives 100 miles or more from a medicinal marijuana pharmacy or health department. It is illegal for patients to purchase more than the lesser of the following in any 28 days:

  • A quantity necessary for 30 days of treatment based on the QMP’s dosing recommendations; or
  • The equivalent of 113 grams of fresh cannabis flower; or
  • Medicine containing more than 20 grams of THC, tetrahydrocannabinol.

Even for medical purposes, it is unlawful to use marijuana in Utah. There is no problem with vaporizing it, however. Restrictions include the following:

  • Tablet
  • Capsule
  • Concentrated oil
  • Absorption of fluids
  • Transdermal preparation
  • Gummy cubes
  • Unprocessed plants in blister packs with not more than 1 gram of each blister
  • Resin or wax

A qualified medical physician may provide wax or resin if a patient fails to respond to the other forms of treatment. Unprocessed flowers and other edibles not contained in blister packs are also prohibited by law.


Utah Reciprocity Laws

Can a medicinal cannabis card from another state be used in Utah? Unfortunately, there are no reciprocity rules in Utah at this time. If you want to buy marijuana from a dispensary in Utah, you need to be a Utah resident with a current Utah medical marijuana card.

Medical marijuana cardholders who just relocated to Utah and have a valid medicinal cannabis card from a different state can continue to possess and consume marijuana as long as they meet Utah’s medical marijuana regulations. After 45 days, this will no longer be valid, and the new user will be required to apply for a medical marijuana card in Utah.



If you have a medical condition that qualifies for a medical marijuana card, you should seek the advice of trained medical professionals. They’ll be able to inform you if marijuana treatment or therapy is the best option for your particular situation. This will be a valuable resource for people who qualify, saving time and expense of traveling out of state or procuring pharmaceuticals illegally from the black market. 


Products that participate in the Utah program are required to demonstrate compliance with a set of high standards before being approved for distribution. You can obtain the same advice and guidance from a registered pharmacist and healthcare provider at a traditional pharmacy. These are people who are knowledgeable about the products. They can advise you on a dose, how much you should take, how to operate a vaping device, and things to keep in mind and monitor as you utilize medical Cannabis as a treatment option.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *