How To Get A Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card?Amanda Hays
Medical marijuana cards may be available to residents of Rhode Island. Medical marijuana may help alleviate some of your symptoms if you are a legal resident and meet specific requirements. Find out how to get a Rhode Island driver’s license here.
How to Obtain a Rhode Island Marijuana Card?
Step 1- A friendly physician in Rhode Island can schedule an appointment for you online. HIPAA-compliant and rapid, our process is the best in the business.
Medical marijuana certificates can be obtained by consulting one of our RI licensed physicians.
You can get a Rhode Island medical marijuana card online in just a few minutes after speaking to a doctor about your medical condition.
The online consultation costs $149, and you’ll only be charged if your application is granted.
You can apply to the state when your doctor has given the go-ahead.
Step 2- An actual paper certificate is sent to you by postal service (typically takes 5-7 days).
Fill in your personal information on the state application form and mail it with a doctor’s certification.
The state charges $50 for the application. Send your software to the following address:
Professional Licensing Facility in Rhode Island
The 3rd floor of 105A Capitol Hill
Providence, Rhode Island, 02908-5097
Step 3- You must wait two to four weeks before receiving your Rhode Island medical marijuana identification card.
Visit a dispensary or even have your medications delivered to your home!
Rhode Island’s Medical Marijuana Program can be accessed here for additional details.
Requirements for a Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card
- Cancer, or the therapy of this ailment
- Treatment or prevention of glaucoma
- HIV positive status or treatment of this illness
- AIDS or the treatment of this illness
- In the case of hepatitis C, treatment options
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder). You must be at least eighteen (18) years old to participate.
- Autism Spectrum Disorders (Specific symptoms and requirements must be met) (Diagnosis Requirements for Autism Spectrum Disorder)
- Minimum age limit is 18
In Rhode Island, where can you buy medical marijuana?
In Rhode Island, just three Compassion Center dispensaries are now open for business. These are the details:
- Compassionate Care Center at Greenleaf (Portsmouth)
- Compassion Center Thomas C. Slater (Providence)
- Summit Medical Compassion Center (Warwick)
Medical Marijuana: Can it be grown at home?
Yes, up to twelve plants and twelve seedlings. To cultivate marijuana, it must all be done in one place.
Indoor storage is required. The following limits apply to the cultivation of marijuana by two or more cardholders in domestic or non-residential locations:
- Only 10 ounces of usable marijuana, 48 mature marijuana plants, and 48 seedlings are allowed in non-residential areas.
- No more than 10 ounces of usable marijuana, 24 mature marijuana plants, and 24 seedlings are allowed in residence.
- Not more than nine state-licensed dispensaries are allowed.
Rhode Island’s MMJ laws
Consumers, medical marijuana patients, farmers and sellers, and people who have been convicted of marijuana-related offenses are all affected by the new law’s provisions.
Here are the laws:
- Possession and storage of up to one ounce of marijuana by adults over 21 are legal (and will be in the future).
Additionally, adults may cultivate up to three mature and three immature plants, subject to the development of security requirements.
It is no longer a crime to have more than an ounce of marijuana in your possession, as long as you don’t exceed the 2-ounce limit.
- On school buses, public transit, on school premises, or in a correctional facility, marijuana smoking is forbidden under federal, state, and municipal regulations; it is also prohibited in places where smoking or vaporizing tobacco is not permitted by federal, state, and local laws.
- The Rhode Island legislature has appointed three members of a “cannabis control commission” (CCC)re to oversee the state’s marijuana business.
The CCC will develop regulations for the new law with the assistance of an advisory board, which is also responsible for approving any submitted retail license applications.
- Decriminalizing small amounts of marijuana in the state’s courts will immediately expunge any prior civil or criminal convictions for such offenses.
It’s possible to petition the courts for expedited expungement, but they have until July 1, 2024, to do it.
- Adult-use marijuana sales are slated to begin on December 1st (although if the Massachusetts experience is a guide, this date may be delayed).
Retail and medical marijuana “compassion centers” are already in operation. The six newly granted licenses can sell products under the new “hybrid” license if they apply and pay the fee.
It is expected that up to 24 extra licenses will be given for social inclusion applicants and 6 for worker-owned co-ops in each of the six geographic zones.
- The state will levy taxes on the sale of marijuana for adults at 7 percent, a 10% excise tax, and a 3% municipal tax for urban centers that allow marijuana enterprises.
- By conducting a referendum on or before November 8, 2022, cities and municipalities that do not currently have one of the nine compassion centers can opt-out of retail marijuana shops.
Cultivators and laboratories in the city or town can continue to function. Still, no new adult-use permits can be issued by CCC, so the city or town will not be able to partake in the revenue generated by recreational sales.
It is only possible for a city’s general assembly to vote in favor of re-admission after a municipality has opted out.
- There will no longer be a cost for medical marijuana patients and caregivers to grow their medicinal cannabis on December 1, 2022. However, they will still have to register with the CCC.
- New cultivation licenses will be prohibited for two years under the proposed legislation.
Any current medical marijuana farmer will be able to produce, manufacture, and process marijuana under the name “hybrid cannabis cultivator” beginning August 1, 2022, in exchange for a license fee.
There will be a ban on direct sales by cultivators to consumers.
- Because no one company can own more than one license, this bill prevents the industry from becoming too consolidated.
Individuals, on the other hand, can invest in many licensees.
- If an employee is found to be under the influence of marijuana while at work, they can still be disciplined, but they cannot be punished just for using marijuana lawfully outside the workplace, with few exemptions for government contractors and dangerous professions (where the employer can implement policies to prohibit adult-use marijuana within 24 hours before a scheduled work shift or assignment).
Getting a Rhode Island Medical Marijuana (MMJ) card is simple. Eight dispensaries will be open by the end of 2022. However, there are currently just three.
Aside from that, Rhode Island is expected to legalize recreational marijuana by October of that year. However, until then, you will only be able to legally purchase marijuana in the state of Rhode Island with an MMJ card.
Leave a Reply