How To Get A Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card?

How To Get A Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card?

Do you have a long-term condition affecting your body or mind, such as cancer, general anxiety, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder, irritable bowel syndrome, or epilepsy? Medical marijuana may be an option for you if you reside in Pennsylvania and have qualifying conditions for medical marijuana. Newly authorized medical marijuana has been demonstrated to cure a wide range of both physical and mental issues. It is a feasible alternative to prescription drugs, which are addictive and have significant adverse effects.

In 2016, the state of Pennsylvania voted to legalize medicinal marijuana, and since then, perceptions toward the marijuana drug have changed. To ensure that patients with significant medical conditions have access to medical cannabis safely and efficiently, this program utilizes a variety of delivery options that are both effective and safe for the users.

A patient must follow the strict criteria to use medical marijuana in Pennsylvania. The possession of cannabis for recreational use is still prohibited in this state, and even if you meant to use it for medicinal reasons, you might still be charged with “recreational” use. More and more individuals are applying for medicinal marijuana cards in Pennsylvania under the state’s program. The procedure for obtaining a Pennsylvania Medical Card is quite simple.

Knowing Pennsylvania’s regulations and requirements for a medical marijuana license is the first step toward treating chronic illnesses with medical marijuana. Here’s more on this blog about medicinal marijuana laws, restrictions, and how to get a Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card.

Laws and Regulations Regarding Medical Marijuana

The following are the rules and regulations of medical marijuana include:

  • Under Pennsylvania’s drug offenses law, marijuana possession for personal “non-medical” use remains unlawful and might result in criminal penalties. However, persons who have a valid medical marijuana card are permitted to keep up to a 30-day supply of the following:
  • flowering cannabis
  • creams
  • gels
  • liquids
  • oils
  • ointments
  • pills
  • tinctures

Cannabis flower is the newest addition to the list of permitted products, and it was previously unavailable. Smoking a cannabis flower, on the other hand, is still prohibited. Vaporizing the marijuana flower is the only way to use it for medical purposes.

Pennsylvania’s Medical Marijuana License Rules

  • It is legal for users to buy up to 30 days’ worth of medicine from medical marijuana shops. Any money that is obtained from medical marijuana must be documented. Refills of medicine are available to those patients who have “re-upgraded” their 30-day supply within seven days after running out.
  • These restrictions are carefully enforced at all times. Pennsylvania law prohibits possessing more than a 30-day supply of marijuana. You could face severe criminal charges even if you only consumed marijuana for medicinal purposes. Never try to get more than what you are allowed or prescribed to have by going around the system.

What is the Pennsylvania MMJ Card?

In May 2018, Pennsylvania enacted a medical marijuana bill. Patients and caregivers in the state have received more than 100,000 new identification cards since the legislation’s enactment. The maximum number of producers allowed in the state is 25, while the number of dispensaries that can operate is 50. The Pennsylvania Medicinal Marijuana Program only accepts patients who have been diagnosed with at least one of the illnesses listed on the program’s official website as suitable for treatment with marijuana for medical purposes.

How to obtain a Medical Marijuana Card?

There are four fundamental steps to obtaining medical marijuana in Pennsylvania under the state’s medical marijuana program:

  • Get your account set up
  • The approval of a physician
  • Pay the application fee
  • Visit a Pennsylvania-approved dispensary

1. Get your account set up

Registration is the initial step in obtaining medical marijuana in Pennsylvania. To begin with, you must create a profile on the Medical Marijuana Registry. This profile includes your name, address, and phone number. You must also have a State driver’s license card approved by the Pennsylvania Transportation Department to enroll you in the medical marijuana program.

2. The approval of a physician

Once you’ve enrolled in the Marijuana Registry, the next step is to have a qualified doctor certify that you have an eligible medical condition. Authorized medical professionals can access the Marijuana Registry directly and submit their certifications.

  • Medical Conditions That Qualify

To participate in Pennsylvania’s medicinal marijuana program, patients must have one of the following conditions:

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, ALS
  • Anxiety-related disorders
  • Autism
  • Cancer remission therapy
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Dyskinesia and spasms
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Inflammatory bowel syndrome
  • Intractable seizures
  • Multiple Sclerosis, MS
  • Neurodegenerative disorder
  • Parkinson’s
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Neuropathy or severe persistent or intractable pain
  • Sickle-cell anemia
  • Terminal sickness
  • Tourette’s disease

In cases where typical treatment is ineffective or contraindicated or where complementary medication is needed in combination with primary treatment, drug addiction is a problem.

3. Pay the application fee

  • New User

To obtain a medical cannabis ID card, you must apply to the Marijuana Registry and be certified by a licensed physician. The fee for obtaining a marijuana ID card for medical purposes is $50. There may be fee reductions for patients enrolled in assistance programs such as Medicaid, WIC, PACE/PACENET, CHIP, SNAP, or PACE.

  • Updating or Renewing a Licence

You will receive an email reminder with payment instructions around 30 days before the annual bill is due. This email contains a deadline typically approximately one week before the date printed on the ID card as being expired. Your ID card will be canceled if payment has not been received by then. However, the card will immediately reactivate once you log in and pay the annual fee. You must understand the following steps to renew your registration:

  • How Often to Renew

A reminder email will be sent to you 60 days before the user certifications and ID card expires. Renewing is necessary at this point.

  • How to Reactivate

First step: Online submissions are the preferred method.

Second step: If you are a regular user, sign in to your patient’s account.

Third step: The “profile settings” option may be placed in the blue ribbon on the screen.

Fourth step: Personal information should be reviewed and updated. Your Pennsylvania driver’s license and another state-issued identity should have the same information.

Fifth step: When you’re finished, click “Renew my registration” to complete the process.

  • Review Your Email

You will receive a verification email after completing the online renewal process.

  • Pay a visit to the Doctor

Find a registered practitioner who can provide you with a patient certification. You are not required to see the same physician who initially certified you as a patient in our practice.

  • Check Your Inbox

When a doctor signs off on your certification, a new card is created and sent to the location you provided in the patient portal, where it may be picked up. Then the new card will be issued on the day after the expiration of your current card.

4. Visit a Pennsylvania-approved dispensary

  • You can now make purchases from dispensaries selling medicinal marijuana with your ID card.
  • You can also locate a medical marijuana-approved dispensary close to you with the map or the state’s list of dispensaries. To expedite pick-up times, patients can order online after their enrollment procedure has been completed, but first-time customers must meet with a doctor in advance.

Become A Medical Caregiver For Marijuana

  • In the medical marijuana program, two caregivers can be designated in the Medical Cannabis Registry to help users acquire marijuana as a medical need. Caregivers can be anyone from a spouse or parent to a close friend or neighbor. Patients who are younger than 18 years old are expected to be accompanied at all times by a responsible adult.
  • To participate in the medicinal marijuana program, caregivers must register as well. Before being approved, every potential caregiver must undergo a thorough background check. To learn more about registering as a medical marijuana caregiver, you need to know the requirements of the caregiver.

Requirements for Caregiver

Any person who may obtain medical marijuana for a patient from a dispensary qualifies as a caregiver. Two carers are permitted for each patient. Patients who are under the age of 18 are obliged to have a caretaker. Caregivers are allowed to provide care for a maximum of five patients who are using medicinal marijuana.

Caregivers are required to perform the following tasks:

  • The caretaker must be at least 21 years old.
  • Make sure you’re a Pennsylvanian.
  • Possess a current Pennsylvania driver’s license or state-issued photo identification card with your current address.
  • Make sure you’re clear on the criminal record front.
  • Not to be accused of a drug-related crime in the past five years.
  • Obtain a medical marijuana ID card from a dispensary in Pennsylvania to purchase medical marijuana.

Medical Marijuana Transportation in Pennsylvania

Here are the following points to remember:

  • It is permissible for a patient or their caregiver to travel medical marijuana within the state’s borders so long as it does not exceed the 30-day supply limit; the medical marijuana is kept out of reach and stored in an airtight, closed container.
  • The back of the automobile is the most appropriate place to transport medical marijuana. This will help you avoid any mistaken assumptions you were trying to use the drug while driving, which could swiftly lead to a charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Usage of Medical Marijuana

Consumption of medical marijuana is restricted to some locations. In this case, specific rules must be followed at all times:

  • Medical cannabis can only be consumed in the privacy of one’s home or a private house. No matter how you take your medication, this is the only location where it is authorized without specific permission.
  • Under Pennsylvania law, your place of work might also be able to let you do this. On the other hand, it is unusual for places of employment to permit its use on their premises. You could face criminal charges if you take your prescription medication in the wrong location.

Pennsylvania’s Medical Marijuana Program

Key points:

  • In Pennsylvania, medical marijuana is now legal.
  • Medical marijuana cardholders in Pennsylvania can have a 30-day supply on hand.
  • Without a medical marijuana card, you cannot access a dispensary in Pennsylvania, where marijuana is legal.
  • Using medical marijuana must only be done in a private residence or office.
  • The transportation of marijuana over state lines is still considered a violation of federal law.
  • The registration procedure can be completed entirely on the Internet.
  • It is a crime in Pennsylvania to grow marijuana for personal use. 
  • Dispensaries in Pennsylvania are only allowed to sell non-smokable forms of cannabis, such as pills and capsules, oils, lotions, ointments, tinctures, liquids, and certain concentrate products that can be injected or taken orally in the form of medicines.
  • Flowers of the cannabis plant are only permitted if they can be inhaled or vaporized.
  • Users and caregivers are permitted to have a 30-day stock of medical cannabis.
  • Cannabis delicacies, such as gummy bears and chocolate bars, are likewise prohibited.

Possession Fees for Medical Marijuana

Following medical marijuana rules or possessing marijuana without a valid prescription could result in the following penalties:

  • Possession of fewer than 30 grams of marijuana is a criminal offense by up to a year in prison or a fine of $500.
  • Consumption exceeding 30 grams of marijuana is punishable by a year in prison or a fine of $5,000.
  • Growing marijuana is also included in this category. Pennsylvania does not permit the cultivation of any marijuana, unlike other states.


Residents of Pennsylvania who wish to consume cannabis products for medical purposes lawfully may do so if they obtain a medical marijuana card through the state. Suppose you have been diagnosed with one of the diseases that qualify for the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Program. In that case, your healthcare practitioner can fill out the online application and submit it on your behalf. After that, if you need medicinal marijuana, you can get it from any of the numerous dispensaries that have recently opened up across the state. Hence, once you’ve completed the above requirements, you’ll be able to use your MMP card to buy medical marijuana from any Pennsylvania dispensary that has been granted a license.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *