How To Get A Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card?

How To Get A Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card?

Medical marijuana in the Magnolia State is rapidly becoming a reality for those desiring to get involved in the evolving industry. Many Mississippians wonder what is in store for residents who want a medical cannabis certificate.

Since the passage of the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act of 2022 this year, the Mississippi State Department of Health has released rules for testing facilities, advertising plus marketing, and job permits and closed the alternate for cities and counties to opt out of the program.

Starting June 3, the MSDH will initiate the next step by opening the application procedure for patients, doctors, and businesses wanting to be involved in marijuana-making. If you are a patient wanting to know more about the upcoming procedure, here are some of the basics.


Patient Applications

To be qualified for Marijuana Card, you must meet the following credentials:

  • Be 18 or older or be a pediatric patient with parental approval.
  • Be diagnosed with an eligible medical condition – list can be found here.
  • Have a Health Care Practitioner Authorization from a Mississippi licensed MD, DO, APRN or PA.
  • Be a Mississippi resident with evidence of residency. 


How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi

By June 2022, Mississippi Department of Health or MSDH plans to accept applications for medical marijuana patients and doctors and for cannabis transport and facilities for cultivation, processing, testing, and cannabis waste disposal. 

Minors below the age of 21 could only be eligible for the medical cannabis program with the guardian or parental approval. Additionally, parents and guardians are accountable for controlling the management of cannabis along with its dosage. Minor patients would also be incapable of entering a dispensary without a guardian or parent present.

The medical cannabis card application charge is $25 due to MSSDOH for the first application and $25 for each renewal. Patients considered disabled veterans, or disabled first responders who have papers noting them as such, might apply for waiving the application charge.

Steps to start the application procedure and required items needed:


Stage 1 – Health Care Practitioner Accreditation

The first phase to getting a medical marijuana registration card in Mississippi is to meet with your health care physician about medical marijuana. Your health care physician MUST be certified to practice in Mississippi and be a DO (Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine), MD (Medical Doctor), APRN (Advanced Practice RN), or PA (Physician Assistant). If you apply online or through paper, your health care physician will complete a health care practitioner accreditation if they feel that you will benefit from medical marijuana.


Stage 2 – Complete the Patient Application

Complete the patient application, otherwise pediatric patient application, in its totality. You could apply online or print a paper copy of the application. If you need a caregiver, ensure that the caregiver completes a caregiver application. 


Stage 3 – Pay the non-refundable application charge

The payment is $50.00 and is non-refundable for all who apply. If you apply online, there will be a segment for payment options. If you are mailing your application, please comprise a check or money order for $50.00, payable to the State of Mississippi.


Stage 4 – Submit proof of age plus residency

You, your parents, or your legal guardian for pediatric patients must upload a copy of your Mississippi-issued driver license or else State-issued ID with your application. If you mail your application, send a clear photocopy of your Mississippi-issued driver’s license or State issued ID.


Caregiver Rules

Patients can entitle a caregiver to help them get their medical cannabis from a dispensary. If you have more than one caregiver, you must submit info documenting that more caregivers are required because of the patient’s age or medical condition. 

As per the MSDOH, caregivers should be 21 or older unless they are the parent of a medical cannabis patient who is a minor. The caregiver, moreover, might not have certain prior felonies or convictions. Felonies and conviction that could not qualify you to become a caregiver include:

  • A sentence for a crime of violence according to MS law.
  • A conviction for a crime is defined as violent by law in the jurisdiction in which the offense was committed.
  • A sentence or felony for violating any federal or State substance law, including any incarceration, probation,
  • or supervised release inside the past five years.
  • Though these are not presently detailed, this typically includes drug ownership or distribution charges in most states. Caregivers might assist no more than five patients at a time unless the caregiver works at a health facility or similar institution providing patient care.
  • A caregiver application fee plus the cost of $25 a year would be applied. The background check is part of the requirements for a caretaker. it would cost the applicant $37.


The Status of Cannabis Legalization in Mississippi

Mississippi has been identified for its restricting medical marijuana laws. In 2014, the bill recognized as Harper Grace’s Law was passed, permitting positive defense for patients suffering from debilitating seizures for using CBD oil or cannabis oil with 0.5% or less THC. The law limits the use of this oil, which could be produced at the National Center for Natural Products Research. This program came in the first place because Harper Grace, an adolescent who suffered chronic seizures—characteristics of the condition epilepsy— found relief from her condition using CBD oil.

As per the local NBC station in Mississippi, “A campaign for medical marijuana is more than just a vote initiative; it is line of hope for several Mississippi families.” This was the State with Ashley Durval and her daughter Harper Grace in 2014. However, the legislation named the Harper Grace Law delay 22234 for four years. In 2018 Durval disclosed, “When we did the bill, I never thought it might take as long as it took.”

Citizens of Mississippi voted to approve medicinal cannabis by a majority in the November 2020 poll. They voted on both medical marijuana modification Initiative 65 plus Initiative 65A, with the latter permitting medical legalization for only debilitating medical conditions. 

The grassroots initiative, Initiative 65, will permit doctors to prescribe medical cannabis for 22 devastating conditions. If Initiative 65A passed on its own, it would have banned cannabis smoking for medical cannabis patients who were not fatally ill.

Below the passages of both 65 and 65A, the Division of Health in Mississippi is accountable for developing rules for the program. They plan to start accepting applications for medical cannabis cards in June 2022 for patients and applications for dispensaries, processors, cultivators, and other medical marijuana industries. The MSDH expects that medical cannabis products will be accessible to patients in late 2022.


The History of Medical Marijuana in Mississippi

Mississippi has several of the most punitive criminal charges for cannabis possession or distribution. That might be one of the reasons why cannabis legal reform has been challenging in MS.

For instance, selling over ten (10) pounds of cannabis carries a maximum punishment of life in prison, without any option for parole. Trafficking or ownership of any amount of concentrated cannabis has a compulsory thirty (30) year prison sentence. 

January 2014—Rep. Sam C. Mims presented house Bill 1231. It was rapidly referred to the Judiciary Committee on January 2, 2014. The House of Representatives sanctioned HB 1231 with a unanimous ballot of 119 in favor and none opposed. 

When Mississippi Gov. Bryant signed House Bill 1231, which was named “Harper Grace’s Act.” However, HB 1231 was not a medical cannabis legislation. Instead, it only approved research and production of clinical-grade cannabidiol (CBD) extract. 

The legislature limited compounding necessities for CBD products to at least 15% CBD and a maximum of 0.50% THC. 


Potency Restrictions

Patients can purchase cannabis oil containing only 0.5% THC under Harper Grace’s Law. When patients can apply to the new medical program and dispensaries are available, cannabis flowers must not exceed 30% of THC levels, and oils, tinctures, and concentrate might not exceed 60% THC. Also, all cannabis products from a dispensary must have a “notice of harm” marked on the packaging.


Cultivation Rules

Patients or caretakers will not be permitted to grow cannabis in Mississippi when the program starts.


Ownership & Buying Limits

Possession restrictions and purchase limits in Mississippi are calculated based on Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MCEUs) instead of measurements such as grams and ounces. You may not possess more than 28 MCEUs of cannabis or cannabis-based products at a time. This is equivalent to 98 grams, less than 3.5 ounces of dried marijuana flower.

You can buy in a day up to 3.5 grams of flower or one- 100mg THC infused product. Moreover, you are restricted to the following purchase rules:

  • Patients cannot buy more than six MCEUs in a week (which is about 21 grams, or less than 3/4 of an ounce of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot buy more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is about 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)
  • Patients cannot buy more than 24 MCEUs in a week (which is about 84 grams, or less than three ounces of dried flower)
  • Along with possession and buying limits, the following limitations also apply to medical cannabis program patients:
  • Patients cannot smoke or vaporize in cars or in public places.
  • You might not drive, operate a boat, train, or aircraft, or undertake any job that would be negligent or entail professional misconduct while under the influence of cannabis.


What are the Advantages of Getting a Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card?

1. Effective Treatment

If you are presently suffering from a medical disorder, we strongly commend finding a certified physician with the training and experience for medical cannabis. At Mississippi Marijuana Card, our physicians are not only certified by the State of Mississippi but are also continually educating themselves on the new growths of medical cannabis. 


2. Legal Ownership and Transport

A Mississippi Marijuana Card makes this easy to offer documentation and proof to law enforcement that you are listed with Mississippi’s Medical Marijuana Control. With this, you will be capable of owning, transporting, and consuming medical marijuana products. 


3. Access to Dispensaries

Once medical marijuana is legal, patients would have access to great dispensaries that carry medical marijuana products, for example, edibles, flowers, oils, topical products, and vapes. To access these facilities, patients must have a Mississippi Marijuana Card. 


Developing Medical Marijuana in Mississippi 

It would remain prohibited for patients or caregivers to produce marijuana for their use. It will need to be bought from state-licensed firms and will be taxed at a rate of 5% along with the standard state sales tax. Currently, there are a restricted number of facilities approved for growing medical marijuana within the State, and anybody caught doing it without proper licensing will be held accountable to current state and federal laws. 


Mississippi Dispensaries 

The State has only permitted Mississippi medical marijuana lately. However, it is estimated that dispensary licensing might begin within six months if things go efficiently. This means the program might be up and running by the end of 2022.

Mississippi has not placed any limit on the number of dispensaries permitted to open or wherever they can set up shop. The original language kept the dispensaries in mainly zoned areas wherever they were away from schools, commerce, etc.

However, the passed law permits any business or company to apply for licensure as a cultivator otherwise dispensary within the State. They can moreover do business in any area zoned for it, giving dispensaries more alternatives for locations than before. The law states that all cannabis farming and dispensing happen in heavily checked, secure facilities.

The computer system would keep track of patient days. This confirms that no one attempts to buy more medical cannabis than the state permits. The dispensaries would all use the same state-based tracking system, too. Therefore, patients cannot go to a diverse dispensary when they run out of buying allotments for the month.


Q: Are patients under 21 permitted to become MMJ patients in Mississippi?

Yes, Mississippi’s medical marijuana legislature, Initiative 65, does permit residents below the age of 21 to become medical marijuana patients. Mississippi has higher qualification obstacles in its State. Patients below the age of 25 (that isn’t a typo) need an evaluation from two doctors, and one of them must be a DO or MD.


Q: If I am not a resident of Mississippi, could I use the medical cannabis program plus its dispensary?

Yes, if you are a person who has been a Mississippi occupant for less than 45 days, you can register with the MSDOH to buy and use medical cannabis in the State.

It would help if you were licensed to use medical marijuana in your home state and have a doctor’s statement attesting that you have a medical condition that qualifies for cannabis in MS. You must also submit any papers required by the medical cannabis program and could only register for two 15-day periods yearly. Each registration costs $75.


Q: Is there a limit to the quantity of medical marijuana a cardholder could possess?

A Cardholder could not have as much medical marijuana as they wanted. Mississippi formed a unit of measurement named “MMCEU” and has possession limits according to each kind of medical cannabis product. One MMCEU is equal to 3.5 grams of medical cannabis flower. The maximum quantity of MMCEUs resident card holders can own at one time can be no more than twenty-eight units. Also, the ownership limit for nonresident cardholders is fourteen MMCEUs.


Q: Does having a medical marijuana card in Mississippi stop me from owning or purchasing firearms?

 A listed qualifying patient shall not be denied the right to own, buy, or own firearms, ammunition, and firearm accessories exclusively owing to their status as an eligible patient. Firearms in Mississippi are a significant part of the history and culture of the State, and the Mississippi legislature made sure to comprise segments in the bill to address the issue.


Q: Can You Order Weed Online in Mississippi? 

Patients cannot order weed online or purchase medical marijuana without making an appearance at a dispensary in person. Minor patients and those physically or mentally incapable of getting their own marijuana could have a caregiver make purchases on their behalf. 

Some dispensaries would likely follow suit with other states and offer online ordering for those attracted. However, it is not possible to lawfully order weed online if you’re a Mississippi resident. Fortunately, the new medical marijuana law makes it easier for people with qualifying conditions.


Final thought

Mississippi legalizes medical marijuana for individuals with debilitating conditions, such as cancer, AIDS, and sickle cell disease.

Republican Gov. Tate Reeves signed the legislation in February 2022, instantly becoming law. It might be months before the first marijuana dispensaries open. The new regulation will allow patients to purchase up to 3.5 grams of cannabis daily, up to six days a week. That is 3 ounces each month. 

It sets taxes on the production plus sale of cannabis and specifies that plants must be grown indoors under controlled conditions.

The new law forbids the State from providing economic development incentives for the cannabis business. The State often offers tax breaks and financial help for roads or water access to industrial sites. 

The law gives cities and counties 90 days to opt-out of permitting medical marijuana facilities for developing or selling. But, people in those communities might petition for an election to overrule local officials’ verdicts and allow them.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *